3D: Low-poly Robot

Our latest 3D task was to create a low-poly robot in 3DSMaxx. Although these models are known for being bocky, the low poly count allows them to use significantly less memory than their high-poly counterparts. Games will often have a high and low poly model for gameplay and cutscenes respectively.

 

Here is the image of my lo-poly robot:

beepboop

Although this not entirely accurate to the image we were given, I had to finish this model without the references due to my own misjudgement. But I feel that my model is close enough. If I had more time I would have accurately completed the model’s hands and given it a texture. I feel I am improving with my modeling speed, but I need to keep practicing modeling and texturing.

 

Leave a Reply

