Painting Technique: Lineart to Paint

Whoops, got a bit ahead of myself on the Christmas post.

 

Just as a last 2D task, we were instructed to take the line art of another artist who had designed caterpillar creatures (much more successfully than myself) and use a painting over technique to attempt a more fluid and less cell-shaded kind of effect.

linework_2011

I found this task quite difficult. I had attempted this two or thee times before getting myself into the swing of the minimal lines/painter style. This means that I did not have time to finish the tutorial peice to the level desired. But luckily I grasped the idea by the end of the session. I hope to use this technique in future to make sure my work is not limited to a heavily line-art based and expand my skillset.

Leave a Reply

