Turret Design

Looking at the SOE video of a Turret 3D render and paint-over for Planetside, we were set the task of following the same process. Looking through the video almost frame-by-frame these are timestamps of the areas that I might want to revisit in that video:

  • 0:27 – Sketching and blocking in tones with the hard edged brush.
  • 0:58 – Adding Colour.
  • 1:12 – Creating rough 3D model from basic shapes.
  • 1:22 – Adding materials in 3D software.
  • 1:47 – Checking 3D model in export window, adjusting lighting etc.
  • 1:50 – Import to .PSD file.
  • 1:57 – Adding bolts/logos via paint-over technique.
  • 1:58 – Adding text using text tool.
  • 2:08 – Importing textures and using transform tool to fit
  • 2:30 – Importing textures and using warp tool to fit.
  • 2:46 – Adding more textures through overlay layers.
  • 3:22 – Adding lighting using dodge tool.

 

mindmap

Firstly I done some research into mounted turrets and weapons. Some from the real world and other from existing game concepts.

 

sketches

Secondly I sketched out some ideas I had while doing my research, exploring the possibilities of a ascetically pleasing but functioning weapon.

 

 

fin

I picked some of the better aspects of some of my sketches and added them together, creating a final design. I then scanned this small sketch and went over it with some colour and details in Photoshop.

 

3dNext I used basic shapes to begin building my turret in 3D. Using tools such as editable poly and boolean to get the shape I desired. Then adding materials and light to get a complete image.

 

     Screenshots of work in progress : 3D_3 3D_4 3D_5 3D_6 3D_7

paintover

Taking this 3D model into a 2D image once again, I could paint over it and add details quickly without having to go through the painful process of mapping the textures in 3DSMaxx. I much prefer this method as it saves time and I find Photoshop a lot easier to work with and therefore less time consuming. Although making textures is something I feel I should do in future if I’m going to do paint-overs or 3D modelling, rather than attempting them quickly and resorting to royalty free textures.

Screenshots of work in progress: 2d_3 2d_42d_2 2d_1 2d_5

Leave a Reply

