Drazer: Subdivide to Conquer

In order to smooth my model but retain the hard edges of the plastic I had to use the crease tool in order to harden the strong edges while allowing the curves to be smoothed.

Capture

Although this took a long time, it meant that that i got a much more detailed model.

 

Although it was about this point, where I was told that the Crease tool information wouldn’t port to Zbrush. Therefore I had to smooth my model in Maya after creasing it in order to keep my desired hard edges.

hi

So after a long and painful few sessions of spending most of my time holding the MMB I finally smoothed my model. And it was worth it to see how detailed and smooth it is. Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

