Games Art: Model Sheet Pt1

Now I’ve chosen my final design for the body shape, colour and attire of my character, I can now make a reference/model sheet for him.

 

After my group project, i learnt the importance of having a reference in a T-pose. There are a lot of difficulties that can be avoided simply by using this default pose especially when it comes to rigging and animation. However, since I still wanted to have a natural-looking character, I relaxed the pose very slightly.

 

I started the Model sheet by box-modeling a rough in Maya in order to gain the proportions I was looking for – the main issue I had was with the length of the upper and lower legs and the proportion between the two. After some tinkering, I found a balance that was visually appealing while still realistically being able to stand and hold his own weight.

Capture5

I added some edge looks and rotated/scaled the edges of my model to get the rough shape I wanted, however the low resolution mesh was far too box-like, while the smoothed mesh was far too flat. I used the 2 view [smoothed with wireframe] to get a good idea of what I needed as this mesh would only be used as a reference point.

 

refsheet

Using screenshots of my model, I sketched out the details of my character. This also made the process of lining up the model slightly easier as I could roughly sketch out and line up the shapes before adding details.

Above you can see my finished reference sheet for Scape. I included the final character variation to elaborate on details such as the face. A second version was made with his attire shown, but in it;s own folder group so I could reduce the opacity for the ease of modeling.

 

Overall, I am quite happy with my model sheet, although I did not include details such as a bird-eye perspective or details such as the inside of the hands. Although some of these details are included in the 3/4 view from my character variations.

Leave a Reply

